Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Energy and Environment Directorate


Charlie Brandt, photo
Charlie Brandt
CSD Director

Coastal Sciences Division

  • Coastal Research - G Harker-Klimes

Wayne Johnson, photo
Wayne Johnson
ESSD Director

Earth Systems Science Division

Steve Shankle
Steve Shankle
EI&BD Director

Electricity Infrastructure & Buildings Division

Cindy Powell Photo
Cindy Powell
EP&MD Director

Energy Processes & Materials Division

Paul Bredt
Paul Bredt
NSD Director

Nuclear Sciences Division

Energy and Environment

Core Research Areas