Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Energy and Environment Directorate
Page 826 of 1051

Staff Accomplishments

FLC Award Goes to PNNL Team for SAMMS Technology

February 2006
Congratulations to ETD's Shas Mattigod, James Toth, Shane Addleman and Rick Skaggs, ESTD's Glenn Fryxell, NSD's Tom Zemanian and CPD's Eric Lund on receiving a 2006 Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for SAMMS, self-assembled monolayers on mesoporous support. This technology can be tailored to selectively remove metal contaminants without creating hazardous waste. It offers huge savings to users faced with costly disposal requirements. A licensing agreement was established with Steward Advanced Materials for use in stack emission coal fired power plants, municipal incinerators and other similar plants. The FLC award is given for outstanding work in transferring technology from a federal laboratory to the marketplace.

Page 826 of 1051

Energy and Environment

Core Research Areas