Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Energy and Environment Directorate
Page 721 of 1045

Staff Accomplishments

PNNL and US Scientists Honor Lee Burger with 2007 Glenn T. Seaborg Actinide Separations Award

June 2007
The 2007 Actinide Separation Conference honored retired PNNL scientist Lee Burger with the 2007 Glenn T. Seaborg Actinide Separations Award. The chair of last year's conference, ETD's Cal Delegard, presented the award. The nomination effort was led by ETD's Randy Scheele. Lee was nominated for his pioneering contributions to the fundamental and practical advancement of uranium isotope separation and the development of solvent extraction for plutonium and uranium chemical separation. In addition, Lee was recognized for his role as mentor and teacher, including helping organize the Graduate Center (now WSU Tri-Cities). Lee's distinguished career spans the history of atomic energy technology, beginning with work at Columbia University in January 1942, which became the Manhattan Project. His career continued at Hanford in 1948 until his full retirement from PNNL in 2003. His work in gaseous radioelement behavior and control, conducted from the 1950s until his retirement, continues to attract interest today. This award reflects the judgment of the Actinide Separation Conference Board representatives from Argonne, Idaho, Lawrence Livermore, Los Alamos, Oak Ridge, Pacific Northwest, and Savannah River National Laboratories, the University of New Mexico, and Washington State University. It marks the fourth time PNNL scientists have won. Past winners are Earl Wheelwright, Jack Ryan, and John Swanson.

Page 721 of 1045

Energy and Environment

Core Research Areas