Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Energy and Environment Directorate
Page 645 of 1051

Staff Accomplishments

Chairman of ASTM International Surface Analysis Committee

April 2010
Congratulations to EED's Dan Gaspar, who was named the new chairman of the ASTM International Committee E42 on Surface Analysis. Committee E42 develops standards, practices, and guides that help improve quantitative surface analysis, and its 67 members currently oversee 30 ASTM standards in this area. As chair, Dan is responsible for maintaining and updating the existing standards, and for working with the subcommittee chairs to direct the development of new standards. Dan is the technical group manager for the Materials Chemistry and Surface Research Group which focuses on new approaches for synthesis and fabrication of new materials (bulk and thin film), as well as relating extrinsic material properties to their chemical/physical properties at the atomic, molecular, and nanoscale.

Page 645 of 1051

Energy and Environment

Core Research Areas