Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Energy and Environment Directorate
Page 520 of 1045

Staff Accomplishments

Tim Bays, Dustin Caldwell, Dennis Mullen, Ken Rappe, Jake Tucker, and Jesse Willett

November 2012
2012 R&D 100 Award These staff, along with NSD's April Carman, OSD's Ken Buxton, former EED staff member Glen Fryxell and former NSD staff member Tom Zemanian, earned a 2012 R&D 100 Award for developing the Advanced Carbon Dioxide Removal Unit (ACRU) - a technology that “scrubs” carbon dioxide from confined spaces like submarines. The ACRU employs an amine-functionalized granular version of Self-Assembled Monolayers on Mesoporous Supports (SAMMS) to capture carbon dioxide from the atmosphere and then release it controllably and on demand when a modest amount of heat and/or vacuum is applied. The SAMMS technology was co-developed by Steward Advanced Materials.

Page 520 of 1045

Energy and Environment

Core Research Areas